The course menu is revealed immediately after you have entered your user name and password and logged in.

If you have been enrolled for a Skill Evaluator test, then you will see two options:-

  • Skill Evaluator – click this if you want to take a Skill Evaluator test.
  • Keyboard Course – click this to go to the course menu screen

If you haven’t been enrolled for a Skill Evaluator test, then you will be directed straight to the Typequick course menu screen.  Below is an explanation of each menu item:-

Resume – by clicking on this button, you will resume the course at the point where you left off last time.  If you didn’t complete the last lesson that you were working on last time, then you will be taken back to the beginning of that lesson.

Choose Lesson – you can complete lessons in any order and repeat them as many times as you like.  Click the ‘choose lesson’ button to see a list of the lessons from the currently selected course module.  Click on any lesson to start it.

Choose Course – there are lots of different course modules that make up the whole Typequick course.  Once you have worked your way through the 10 main keyboard lessons, click ‘choose course’ to try a different course module.  Then click on ‘choose lesson’ to view the lessons from the course module you have selected.

Key Graph – click this to see a graph showing you how you performed in your last completed lesson.  It shows the speed you achieved for each individual key used in that lesson, and the accuracy score for each key too.  It also shows you how your average speed compares against your target speed.

Lesson Results – here you can see a list of all the results you have received in all of the lessons you have completed.  If you have completed any particular lessons more than once, it will show you the speed and accuracy you achieved the last time you completed that lesson.  You can organise any of the columns in the table into ascending and descending order by clicking on the heading of the column.

Settings – click here to make your own personal settings for the course, such as the colour, size and style of the fonts in the lessons, whether error sounds are heard when you make a mistake and so on.  You can even select the keyboard that the course recognises, if you are using a non-standard keyboard.

Log out – when you want to leave the course, always go back to the menu and click the ‘log out’ button to close down your current session correctly.

Help – click here to get further help about the course menu.